WWHEL celebrates 20 years of service 1996 - 2016!

Board Members

Zina Haywood - President

Zina Haywood, Executive Vice President/Provost, Gateway Technical College, has over 30 years of experience in Higher Education Administration from working at The University of Michigan, Oakland University, Milwaukee Area Technical College and Gateway Technical College.

Zina is responsible for the 60+ academic programs, the college libraries, Student Services, the Gateway campuses which are in Kenosha, Racine, Burlington and Elkhorn, and the Institutional Effectiveness Division which includes Research and Planning, Curriculum and Professional Development.

Ms. Haywood has a bachelor’s degree in psychology from The University of Michigan and a Master’s degree in Public Administration from Oakland University. She was in the founding class of Leadership Kenosha in 1998-99. She participated in the Wisconsin Leadership Development Institute in 1997-98 and the National Institute for Leadership Development in May 2001 – May 2002. Zina is a member of the Racine County Workforce Development Board and the Wisconsin Women in Higher Education Leadership (WWHEL) board. She has served on the Board of the Kenosha Area Chamber of Commerce, the Jane Cremer Foundation and the 21st Century Preparatory School in Racine where she served one year as chair.

Zina has received various honors and awards including, the 2005 Gateway Association of Career and Technical Education award for Excellence in Administration and in 2006 the Living Legends Award from the Racine /Kenosha Ministers Wives Alliance, recognition as a Living Legend with the Sistas organization of Kenosha Unified School District and the Leadership award from the National Association of Student Financial Aid Administrators (NASFAA). In February 2008 Ms. Haywood received the Gateway Association of Career and Technical Education award for Excellence in Community Service and went on to receive the state award in the same category. Zina is also the recipient of the 2010 Eagle award for administration from the Instructional Services Administrators organization of the Wisconsin Technical College System.

Executive Vice President/Provost
Gateway Technical College
3520 30th Avenue
Kenosha, WI  53144
Phone  (262) 564-3104
This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

Wendy Weaver - Vice President

Wendy A. Weaver, Ph.D., is the Dean for Academic Affairs at Mount Mary University.  Prior to her current position, she taught English, receiving their Teaching Excellence Award.  She also served as Director of the Honors Program and Chair of the English Department.  Her areas of academic emphasis include memoir, Christianity in literature, and rhetoric and composition.

Wendy oversees international studies, service learning, and Mount Mary’s first-year experience course, Leadership for Social Justice.  Areas of focus include best practices in policies and procedures as well as faculty mentoring and recognition.  Areas of passion encompass inclusive practices, promoting a just and welcoming environment for all Mount Mary community members, and fostering innovative pedagogy among Mount Mary faculty.  She also spearheads many aspects of the University’s Creative Campus Initiative.  In addition to serving as Vice President for WWHEL, she is also an active member of the American Conference of Academic Deans.  

Wendy earned her Ph.D. in English from Marquette University in Milwaukee, WI, focusing on poetry and autobiography and her M.A. in English from the University of Alaska—Anchorage, featuring genre studies.  She received a well-rounded, liberal arts education, as well as a B.A. in English, from Pacific Lutheran University in Tacoma, WA.

Dean for Academic Affairs
Mount Mary University

Joanne Robis - Treasurer

Joanne Robis is the Manager –Administrative Services at Lad Lake, Inc. and retired from the UW Colleges. She currently manages the referral, admissions, and discharge processes; licensing; contract administration; administrative purchasing, mail processing, and receipt processing. She oversees a staff of four. Previously, Joanne retired after 22 years of service with the University of Wisconsin campuses where she most recently served as the Assistant Campus Dean for Administrative Services at UW-Waukesha and as Special Consultant to UW-Fox Valley. Joanne began her career in higher education as the Bursar at UW-Whitewater, and held various positions in the Administrative Affairs division.

Joanne is committed to lifelong learning and service to others. She held the position of Secretary/Treasurer for the Whitewater Optimist Club and as District Secretary/Treasurer for the Wisconsin-Upper Michigan district of Optimists International. She was a founding member of the Wisconsin Forward Award and continues to serve as an Examiner. Joanne also volunteers for the New Horizons Program of the Nazarath Project of the Archdiocese of Milwaukee. She is a member of the Dean’s Advisory Council for the UW-Whitewater College of Education and previously served 12 years as a member of the UW-Whitewater Foundation Board of Directors. She serves WWHEL as Treasurer and member-at-large.

Joanne holds an M.B.A. with an emphasis in Management and a B.S. degree in Psychology from UW-Whitewater.